So I Went to Niagara Falls Randomly

This has been a summer of grand adventures for me!

Last week I took an impromptu trip to Niagara Falls, Canada. Yes, that’s right, I went to the Canadian side. It’s only a few hours from where I live, and my mother and I had been planning on taking a short trip there for years, and we finally did. It was lovely AND kitschy– two of my favorite adjectives!

The thing about Niagara Falls in Canada is it’s almost like a Las Vegas, but for kids. It has really interesting buildings and lots of things to do for children, like the Ripley’s Believe It Or Not! museum and haunted houses and wax museums. I didn’t do any of those things (I did, however, go in the “Upside Down House,) but I did take pictures of the tacky, charming things along Clifton Hill.

The best part of the trip was the tour we went on, where we went behind the Horseshoe Falls, over the whirlpool on the Niagara River, and on the Hornblower boat, to go right up to the falls. Going up to the falls was the most fun, mostly because I was entertained by all of us in our red ponchos, trying to take pictures in the dense mist. I was laughing and I felt happy– everyone wants that!

 

The whirlpool was pretty insane. There is a 90 degree bend in the Niagara River, so it is impossible for the water to, y’know, just casually turn. So it whirls and whirls. Apparently at night, it rotates in the opposite direction (like counter-clockwise instead of clockwise.) We went in an aerocar suspended on cables and went right over it, and stopped.

Now, I’m okay with heights. Heights do not bother me. I’ve been repelling down cliff faces, jumped off of cliffs, and I will most likely go skydiving one day. However, I absolutely do not like being on a man-made structure over water. Like bridges. Or steel cables suspended over one of the most dangerous rivers in the world.

Even though I was internally panicking, I still managed to get a lovely shot, which is one of my favorites from my trip.

It was really hot the day we took our tour, and the sun was shining bright (which made taking good photos difficult… damn shadows.) But the sun did bless me with this: while we were all waiting to board the Hornblower, the sun was shining through our ponchos. It was like a stain glass window. A super cheap, tacky, plastic, stained glass window.

It was an awesome trip. It was certainly special, and I highly recommend going on the Canadian side. I’m sure the view is nice from the American side, but man, the Horseshoe Falls on the Canadian side are just incredible. I can’t fully explain how majestic it was, and pictures can only do so much.

10/10 Highly Recommend!

Happy Shooting!

Bonus images: my mother and I, totally drenched from the falls but still lookin’ phresh af.

2 thoughts on “So I Went to Niagara Falls Randomly

Leave a Reply

