Trying to Get My Thoughts Sorted Out

I have to admit, I’ve felt stuck this week. Right now I feel like I’m in a stage of working where I have a good idea of what I’m doing and where I’m going, but what I’m doing is taking so much time it’s hard to have anything to show for critiques. The self-portraits I’m creating take anywhere from 8 hours to 30+ hours, collecting sheets is going to take me years, and the embroidery that I’m doing on photographs also takes a significant amount of time. While I work slowly on these projects, I want to experiment with other things, while sticking to my topic.

So, I’ve spent this week brainstorming and doing “sketches.” My questions for myself this week were:

  • Can I do a series about childhood sexual trauma without referencing myself?
  • What are some strategies I could use?
  • Is photography even the best medium for this?

Though I don’t necessarily think referencing my own trauma is problematic, I do want to explore different ways of talking about this issue.

I’ve been looking at artists who use liquid light to make their photographs.

I can’t for the life of me find the name of this artist.

VCU Alternative Process Class

Since I started physically messing with my prints, I’ve been wondering what else I can do to make my work more materially dynamic. If the photograph isn’t the best way to cover my topic, perhaps a combination of photography and sculpture/painting/other mediums. Christian Boltanski and Annette Messager bother use photography and found objects in their work, and maybe I can explore that route.

Reliquaire, 1990

Reliquaire, Boltanski

Dead Swiss, 1990

Dead Swiss, Boltanski

My Vows, Annette Messager

There’s a lot going on in my head right now, so many ideas, which is not a complaint by any means. It’s good to have this much inspiration.

An artist who I just started looking at Lisa Kokin. I just really like her style, and as a lover of photography and sewing, I appreciate her work.

Maternal Instinct, Lisa Kokin

Well, that’s all I think I can articulate for now. Happy shooting!

One thought on “Trying to Get My Thoughts Sorted Out

Leave a Reply

