Ireland: Adventuring Around the Burren & the Coast

Life is good, my friends. My first week in Ireland has been wonderful, and I’ve visited all kinds of places. I took a hike to Gleninagh castle, where there was a gorgeous holy well. I also went to the super old tomb at Poulnabrone Dolmen, which was constructed in 2800 BC, Kilfenora, Lahinch, and the Cliffs of Moher.

We took an extra companion with us to keep us energized– my main man Stanley. Good looking out, Stan. Also my little aquatic bug friend, who I gave a heavenly glow filter to, because he was like a sea-rollie-pollie, and those guys are great.

I also finally saw my rainbows! Like, five. It was amazing and I’m so happy.

Life is good, mes amis.

Poulnabrone was especially crazy. The tomb has been there since 2800 BC, and there were 27 bodies excavated from it. Wow wow wow. The other crazy thing was that our little group and a tour bus pulled up to visit it. How weird is it that we are so interested in a few rocks pushed together, and death? Why are we so into this?

One of the more profound moments of my trip so far was our stop at St. Brigid’s Holy Well. We were only there maybe ten minutes, but the experience of being there was eerie, sad, but at the same time welcoming.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” There were pieces of fabric tied to the trees, hair ties, offerings of toys.

Inside the well was even more emotional, with the funerary cards tucked in crevices, rosaries, photographs of babies and children, more toys, poems.

I’m not sure if the children are deceased or if their loved ones wish for them to be blessed and protected. Either way, it’s somber.

This trip is going by so fast. It feels like my time in the studio is going by even faster, if that’s at all possible. So, I better get back to work– I have to have something to show for this trip, other than rainbow emojis over landscapes.

Happy Shooting!

 

3 thoughts on “Ireland: Adventuring Around the Burren & the Coast

  1. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” I thought Jesus said that. Looking up St Bridgid. Sounds like a saint I’d like to get to know a lot better. Wonderful photos.

Leave a Reply

