Pocket Film Antiques

The first week of October I went on a little road trip to Louisville, Kentucky, for the MWSPE conference. I knew I wouldn’t have much time to take photos, so I only brought one camera: my Minolta Weathermatic A, which is my only camera that shoots pocket film.

And, for some reason, I really wanted to shoot antiques with pocket film. I thought they would look good with the grainy quality of the film. Since my family was going to Kentucky with me, I knew that stopping at antique stores was inevitable– so I was prepared, and I was not disappointed.

One of my favorite things about antique stores is the collection like quality of a lot of their display cases. So much Coca Cola memorabilia, paperweights, light bulb thingies… Also, shout out to the last image of the carnival ride set up– I have a fondness for the dog(?) chillin’ in the middle of everything.

When I got back from my trip, I still had a couple of shots left, but was eager to get the cartridge processed. So, I took some photos of my apartment, including my roommate’s cool looking bed (sorry, Claire, but you have good taste.)

As always, I want to shoot more. Chicago has some great antique shops, so maybe when I’m not living the grad school life, I can check them out. Until then, this will probably be a thing I do when I go on road trips.

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

