Graduate School Update

I am halfway through my first semester in graduate school, and wow. Just… Wow. Here are a few facts:

1.) I’m tired and my brain feels like a strange mixture of oatmeal, jello, and sadness.

2.) My brain is so filled with knowledge on photography things, there isn’t much room left for important things, like pressing the “down” button on an elevator when you are trying to leave the 12th floor.

3.) Naps are the most important thing. I thought they were important when I was in undergrad, but man. This is a whole new level of commitment.

4.) I was hesitant about jumping into a graduate program straight from undergrad, but I am fully confident I made the right choice.

5.) My work is getting heavy and I’m okay with that.

I miss blogging multiple times a week, but grad school is literally my life. It’s sad, but true. When I’m not reading for classes, I’m shooting, and when I’m not shooting, I’m editing or brainstorming, and when I’m not doing that, I’m having an existential crisis, and when that isn’t going down I’m sleeping or eating potato chips while watching DWTS. Is this adulthood?

No, it’s grad school.

For the next two years, I get the joy and pleasure of focusing on a thesis body of work. I made my initial decision about 6 weeks ago, and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes from here. I’ve already created a series that is a work in progress, and it touches on what I’m focusing on: Childhood Trauma and PTSD. It’s different than my usual work, which involves sets, characters, tableau… I just photographed objects with a single light source. I think the juxtaposition hits on what I’m trying to talk about.

I have a lot more work to do with these, including re-photographing them with different light. There are a lot of ways I can explore my thesis, and I’m super happy I’m surrounded by peers who have a passion for photography and can talk about it in an informed way. Undergrad was okay, but grad school is much more my speed. I love a good challenge especially one that takes years off your life and reduces you to a poptart eating sorry excuse of a human.

Overall, I may be frustrated, tired, hungry, and crabby, but I am inspired, excited, and in love with where I am. It’s definitely hard, but everyday I feel myself becoming more informed about the field I love so damn much.

So, yeah. Here is a little update for anyone who stills follows me. Happy Shooting!

One thought on “Graduate School Update

Leave a Reply

