Take Me to Abandoned Warehouses to Show Me Our Love is Real

Want to win my heart?

Scout out an abandoned warehouse, because you know I will love it and will want to take pictures there.

In the tiny little village of Colon, MI, there is an abandoned warehouse filled with porcelain, furniture, sewing things, mirrors… It’s crazy. There is a room where the floor is covered with Red Book and Better Homes and Gardens and Women’s Weekly magazines. There is so much to find, and I was fortunate enough to have a wonderful partner who found this place for me, talked to the owners, and won me an afternoon there.

Since the place was so dilapidated, I knew I wanted to do something that went past the usual “urban decay” aesthetic that everyone loves so much (and what I find to be boring…) I was brainstorming my life away, bouncing ideas off my mother at 4AM, and a body of work formed in my head.

Abandoned warehouse + virginal clothing = MUCH ART. VERY STATEMENT. WOW.

Seriously though, this place was amazing. I found two rolls of Kodak film from 1965, which are more likely toast, but whatever– I have a roll of Verichrome and that’s all that matters to me.

I also brought my Voigtlander Brillant V6, hoping to get some more vintage looking shots, but thank goodness I brought my digital camera with me because my film didn’t turn out so hot. Here are just a few that came out neat– they are nothing like what I wanted, but they are still cool and worth sharing.

Weirdly enough, the markings on the paper that is on the 120 film ended up on my negatives. Light leak? I haven’t the slightest clue, but it looks awesome.

I’ve been at this photography thing long enough to have seen enough decayed buildings to last me for the rest of my career. But man, this was a special place. It is currently owned by an Amish couple (I think? Maybe a lot of Amish folks own it, idk,) and they sell the antiques that are currently in the building. It’s a really neat set up.

That’s all for now. Go forth and shoot creatively in abandoned buildings!

Happy Shooting!

 

Leave a Reply

