Polaroid Automatic 100 Land Camera

Over winter break (can you believe that was half a year ago?) I acquired a Polaroid Automatic 100 Land Camera from a thrift store. I found out that I could still get film for it, which is FP-100C by Fuji, and since then I’ve been playing with it. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but these photographs are so fun. I get to not only make an instant photo, but I get to peel back the negative, so I’m kind of doing something!

The first photograph I took with my new love was of our Christmas tree. Totally out of focus, but I wanted to see if the thing worked and I love this picture because, well, it was my first one. ❤

I took it around with me, and I snapped this shot on a cold and rainy day, and the film got stuck together. So, light leak on this strange and ominous road? I’ll take five.

So there’s this small restaurant near my old house that has been going through owners through the years, and the last people who owned it painted it these lovely neon colors. Well, I guess it didn’t catch people’s attention (or appetite?) because it’s closed now. But, hey, I had a cool sweater, a composition, and a boyfriend who is good at following directions.

I took a break from the camera for a little while, and I picked it up again a couple weeks ago. I was discovering that the camera has a rather slow shutter, and I was wondering if it was because I was holding the button down. So, I took this picture of my room, holding the button for about 5 seconds, and discovered the answer to my low-light problems.

Then, I was playing with bleach, and was like “omg what would happen if I put bleach on it?” and the glorious green blobs are what happened. Oh, the possibilities this experiment brings.

Then there was this one time I was working on a photo series (that you will soon see,) and something went wonky and the developer got stuck on the image. But hey, it’s cool looking.

I have a lot of plans with this camera. I bought a flash for it in Alabama (at an antique shop on the way to New Orleans– I figured I could use it for something,) and the bulbs for it still exist. I’d also like to do more low light stuff, but even when the camera is on a tripod, my hand shakes too much. So, I have yet to figure that out.

I found mine at a thrift shop, so if you’re interested in taking these kinds of photos, keep an eye out, and even check eBay. I also recommend the bleaching– it was so cool!

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

