Alice in Wonderland

For years, I’ve been wanting to create an Alice in Wonderland series. Like, since high school, when I was still taking pictures of flowers and clouds and shoes and railroad tracks (the usual rights of passage for young photographers.) But, I wouldn’t do it. I saw too many series that looked the same, and the world didn’t need one more copy. Then I saw Elena Kalis’ Alice in Wonderland series and threw my hands up in surrender. Because dang son.

It took me a while to come up with an idea I approved of, and, as you can guess because I’m writing about it, I did.

The idea involved a scanner, endless hours of torment and despair, a thorough search through my house for objects, a couple trips to the dollar store, a broken laptop, and sheer tenacity because honestly I wanted to throw in the towel so many times that if I did there would be enough towels for everyone at the local YMCA. That’s a lot of towels.

I started working on these in October, I had ten finished mid-November, and over my holiday break from school I completed them.

So here have some scanography:

Scanography Alice in Wonderland Series, my friends.

This was a fun deviation away from my work on dreams without actually deviating away from my work on dreams. Lemmie explain: Alice’s adventures were dreams. TADA. Also, all of my models have their eyes closed, which has an open interpretation. Are they dreaming of these characters? Are they these characters? Dude, who knows. I’m not tellin’.

I had the idea to make this series in 2012, after I did a self-portrait similar to the style of these images. I wanted to take objects that reminded me of the lovable characters, scan them, and piece them together as collages. I used my friends, and did my best to match up each person to each character. I have a feeling my friend Megan is going to kill me for making her the Mock Turtle.

Having read the books and watched many different movie versions, I had a lot of material to work with. It’s no wonder I was able to make these, considering all the resource material I had at my disposal.

There are three more I’d like to make, but the characters are a little more difficult to find objects that match them. Any guesses as to who is missing?

This past year or so has taught me that patience is amazing. More than once this year I accomplished a photo shoot that I had in mind a year or more, but didn’t execute because I either didn’t have the materials and needed to slowly accumulate them or I felt I didn’t have the skill set. I’m pretty impatient at times, but this year has proven to me that good things come to those that wait. So, don’t give up on an idea. Put it up on a shelf for a while for when you’re ready to revisit it.

Happy Shooting!

One thought on “Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

