Happy New Year!

It’s the first day of 2015 and I’m already pumped for the opportunities this year will bring. 2014 was so, so good to me, and I have a feeling 2015 will be even better.

Here are some highlights from 2014:

  • I improved my knowledge of Photoshop through my fun series, Fictionisms.
  • I took my first lighting course, and loved it so much it was hard to get me out of the lighting studio.
  • Home Sweet Home, the best thing I’ve done so far, was created.
  • I studied in London and traveled to Ireland, Northern Ireland, and France.
  • On above mentioned travels I orchestrated constructed images, which involved months of pre-planning. It also involved packing model ships.
  • For the first time I shot on a medium format and large format camera.
  • I learned how to cyanoype, develop black and white film, shoot with a view camera, and how to make gum bichromate prints.
  • I submitted to ArtPrize for the first time, and had my work displayed in the Grand Rapids Art Museum.
  • Out of approximately 1200 applicants to the Grand Rapids Art Museum, I was one of 19 artists chosen. I was also the youngest artist and the only student.
  • I was interviewed on live radio about my work and was on the front page of a newspaper.
  • After three years of anticipation, I started my graduate school applications.
  • I traveled by myself to the east coast, to visit schools in NYC.
  • I became a member of SPE.
  • I was the proud and honored recipient of a scholarship to go to SPE’s National Conference in New Orleans, LA.
  • My photographs have made people happy and excited.
  • My work has grown exponentially and my voice as a photographer is becoming more refined.
  • In so many ways, the path I’ve chosen as a photographer has been validated.

That’s quite the list, and honestly I’m a bit emotional over how incredible 2014 was. It was definitely filled with struggles and heartbreak, but looking for the joy of last year makes me feel thankful and confident for the year ahead. I had a fantastic 2014, and I can’t wait to conquer 2015.

2015 is going to be my best year in photography yet. Bring it on.

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

