Feeling Blue can be Surprising

One of the most frustrating things about photography is when your vision doesn’t quite match up with reality. These moments are learning experiences, but still, they’re not something you’d do to have fun on a Friday night.

I’ve been playing around with instant film lately because I actually experiment with all sorts of photographic media because I’m obsessed and while I was in NYC, I wanted to do a little shoot with Impossible Project’s Cyan Monochrome film. I even packed a moon for it.

But, I guess I’m not proficient enough in the art of Polariod/Impossible Project photography, because my images were just not coming out right. It was also probably the location of the shots too, because lighting is important my friends. But yeah. I scanned the images in anyway and played around on Photoshop to make them more visible.

In reality, the film isn’t contrasty and not as blue. If you’re interested and you want to see actually successful results, follow this link to the Impossible Project site.  I tried. I didn’t obtain the vision I had, which was a little disappointing, but I did get some cool results. Digital manipulation was involved to make these, so they’re cyanographs with a twist. A hybrid of instant and digital.

Never be afraid to share your mistakes. Some mistakes lead to greater things. And even though your vision may not work out sometimes, it might actually be for the better. Who knows!

Happy Shooting!

One thought on “Feeling Blue can be Surprising

  1. Pingback: Like Cotton Candy: Impossible Project’s Cyan and Magenta Film | Deo Photography

Leave a Reply

