Adventures in NYC: iPhone Edition

This weekend I ventured off to New York City to check out some graduate programs and to see my friend, Patrick, who I haven’t really seen for more than an hour in four years. I packed very lightly (I’m getting good at it,) which meant leaving my hefty cameras behind. So, I used my iPhone a lot to take photos, because this is the 21st century, and to be honest, the iPhone cameras are probably better than my DSLR.

If you saw right through me that paragraph, you’ll know that this post is really about my Snapchat documentary on my trip to the east coast. I had so much fun Snapchatting my trip to Chicago that I figured I’d do it again in NYC. Must be a selfish millennial generation thing, trying to make mundane things seem more exciting:

The thing about iPhones and apps like Snapchat is how narcissistic they are. I purposefully took these photos and made these captions to share with everyone, as if my life was interesting enough for people to care. It’s funny to me, how we create these artificial versions of ourselves to share digitally. These Snaps show that I had a great time, but what they didn’t show was all the not-so-great things in-between. Life is not always fun or glamorous or funny.

But let me knock myself off my high horse: I had no shame sharing my artificially fantastic life with people who probably didn’t care. YOLO.

NYC was really something, though. I spiffed up my not-snaps with some apps like Afterlight and BeFunky, because I’m super hip that way (and the bus ride was 13 hours so I had to do something to kill time.) Also totally threw on an instagram filter for the tree lights one. #photographer

image10 While I’m on the topic of iPhone/Smart Phone photography: people really need to calm down. There are some people who take a selfie, throw a filter on it, post it to instagram and call it photography, and for some reason people get mad about it. “But they’re not real photographers! Instagram doesn’t make you a photographer!” I can see their point, but really, who cares? Let them be creative, even if it means using the Valencia filter to look fly.

Also, there’s a thing called iPhoneography. There are artists out there who use the iPhone as their method of choice. There’s books on it, and if you’re one of the people who get easily offended with popular culture and it’s collision with creative fields, I suggest you read one of these books. It might change your mind.

You’ll also sleep better at night, having minded your own business instead of complaining about irrelevant things that make people happy without hurting anyone in the process.

So, yeah. Here is the photographic evidence of how awesome my life is. I know all of you care oh so deeply.

If you take anything away from this post, take away the knowledge that the red velvet cheesecake at Magnolia Bakery is possibly heaven sent, and everyone needs to eat it until they are in a sugar coma.

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

