Chicago in Selfies and Snaps

Last Friday, I went on an adventure to Chicago, IL. Now the last two times I’ve graced this metropolis with my camera, I ended up with zero pictures, because I was such a huge rookie in the analog world I didn’t know my camera wasn’t advancing film. Live and learn and cry over emulsion that had so much potential.

But anyways I went on the trip with the art department, thinking I’d spend the day alone and contemplating Magritte until my best friend, who lives in Chicago, would get out of work. So, because I’m a loser, I decided to record my day with Snapchat.

I deal with my loser-ness with humor.

The trip was the day after my interview with WOOD Radio in Grand Rapids, and I was riding the bus, friendless, next to a random girl who didn’t mind me invading her personal space because when I fall asleep sitting up I tend to lean to the left and she was on my left and I woke up a couple times practically breathing down her neck so I actually don’t know if she didn’t mind or if she was silently thinking about ways to end me. But yeah, she didn’t know she was sitting next to a celebrity, since being interviewed on live radio one time rockets you into stardom. Duh.

When we got to Chicago, I wasn’t sure what to do, so I just kinda walked in the direction of Lake Michigan because I wanted a shot of the skyline. Walking along the lakefront was wonderful, as the rainclouds were receding. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen Lake Michigan in person, but it is so gorgeous and so blue. And cold- that damn thing has some icy wind. Be responsible. Bring a jacket or five.

I had an epiphany as the wind blew through my bones and I was getting sideways glances from the occasional passerby (I was really into this whole Snapchat Your Sorrows Away thing.) I didn’t need to be alone. Since I’m famous, I have friends everywhere, including my high school friend and freshman year roommate who is currently going to law school at Loyola. So, a couple texts and a tourist-spree later, we met at Starbucks and my Snapchats and I were in good company for the rest of the day.

Also- when did it become a thing for middle schoolers to go to Starbucks? No, go away, you have enough energy. Go get a Slurpee, the caffeine dependency will come later. Enjoy spending your allowance on Yu-Gi-Oh cards (or whatever kids play with these days,) instead.

So my adventures were on the Metra to Wicker Park to Gold Coast where my friend lives in a high-rise because NBD to meeting with my Chicagoan friend to take the train to the ‘burbs. And then we headed to Michigan the next morning. The end.

Also, that is a lot of selfies. I never take selfies.

I was really excited to be back in Chicago, and visiting the city has made my longing to go to grad school there even stronger. I’ll be back in early November to visit for future educational purposes, but until then I will pine away and look at the fun pictures I took with Lomochrome Purple XR film. Once they get developed. Because I’m avoiding the possibility I’m just not allowed to take photos in Chicago and another roll was ruined. Denial is a wonderful thing, my friends.

Happy Shooting!

One thought on “Chicago in Selfies and Snaps

  1. Pingback: Adventures in NYC: iPhone Edition | Deo Photography

Leave a Reply

