Positives About Negatives

My negatives from my last batch of film have been altered, and they look pretty interesting! I’d say they definitely add more dream elements. Or surreal elements. Whatever. Check them out:

I’m pretty pleased with these. The option of altering negatives is a good one, because I was able to make the photos that I didn’t like very much (or just weren’t good compositionally/content/justplainugly.) I’m a huge fan of the ghost sequins and the inverted Lisa Frank stickers. The former looks straight from some bad acid trip.

Well, now I have a new hobby. Oops.

I have an assignment for next week where I have to think about how I’m going to alter the negatives while I’m shooting- so, I’m shooting to alter. Pretty pumped~

If you have access to a film scanner, try this out! You can use just about anything. I used nail polish, glue, tape, a hole punch, thread, I used a needle to scratch at the emulsion, and colored pens and sequins. Oh, and a fortune from a fortune cookie I’ve been keeping around for probably more than a year now. I’m not a hoarder.

So, yeah. Happy Shooting!

 

P.S.- Fun story about the ghost one. When I was little I had really awful nightmares, so my mom got me a dream catcher. It worked for a while until one night I had a really awful nightmare. When I woke up the next day, the dream catcher was in pieces on the floor. Spooky.

One thought on “Positives About Negatives

  1. Pingback: Perfecting Prints | Deo Photography

Leave a Reply

