An Attempt at Dreams

These next four months are going to be dreamy. Daydreams, dreams dreams, dreamy, follow your dreams, and even nightmares. You get it.

I’m going to be working on capturing images that follow this theme. For my first assignment, the goal was to take photos that correspond with the theme we had in mind, to start working it out and try to get our ideas out there. So, I tried. I tried really, really hard. Like, obsessed over a week and couldn’t stop writing in my notebook and couldn’t eat and couldn’t fall asleep kind of obsessed. Many questions plagued me: how can I break my usual aesthetic of whimsy to get dreamy? Is there a difference? Do I want to do dreamy, or are my ideas actually surrealist? When we are awake, are we asleep in the dream world? What is our purpose? Is there really a black hole at the beginning of the universe?

I tried a few different techniques, filters, and even a lens attachment to get some of these. Seeing them all together is pretty cool, but also makes me realize I have a lot of work ahead of me this semester if I want a successful series.

Okay, that doll. I know I should address it because it is most likely freaking a lot of you out, but- nah. I’m just gonna not say anything and let you decide why such a thing is welcomed in my house.

Oh, and I’m also glad my pro-fort-making-skills haven’t tarnished at all since my fort-buildin’ days.

Here are some bonuses:

My poor friend in the pool there is not a fan of swimming, and I guess what we were technically doing was water-boarding? So, I accidentally used torture as a means to get a good photo. I’ve done it all, folks.

Here’s to more questionable photographs in the future!

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

