Paris in a Single Post

I’m back in London now, and I’m pretty sure I left my feet in Paris.

Saturday was quite the memorable day. We went to the Musée d’Orsay, where I gave a kind of crash-course in art history to my friends. They probably knew a lot of what I was rambling about, but hey, that’s what friends are for, right? Last time I was in Paris I missed out on going to this wonderful museum, and I’m ecstatic I was able to go this time- I saw so many works of art that I had only read about or see in textbooks. I saw Van Gogh, Degas, Seurat, Monet, Manet, Gauguin… I actually teared up when I was staring at Van Gogh’s Starry Night Over the Rhone.

This may be a photography blog, but hey, I’m still an art student.

After we finished being completely overwhelmed at the Musée d’Orsay, we went to Musée Rodin to see Le Penseur. We frolicked in the gardens for about twenty minutes before embarking on our next journey to the Champs-Élysées. I forgot how deceptively long of a street that was.

So, if you’re wondering why I haven’t broken this post up with a ton of pictures yet… See, here’s the thing: I kind of forgot I had a digital camera. Yes, that’s right- forgot. Instead I took a lot of pictures with my Minolta and other various cameras… So, I mean, there will be pictures of these adventures, just not yet.

ANYWAY. We saw the Arc de Triomphe up close and personal, and then off to the Eiffel Tower we went. Which was also a deceptively long walk.

Our feet were hurting pretty badly, probably due to the massive amount of walking we did the day before at Versailles and how we literally traversed the city that day. We learned that things on the map aren’t as close as they seem- which is the opposite case in London.

So, that day ended when my friend’s feet started bleeding through her socks. We all figured our feet had had enough and went back to the hostel for the night. And, we saw a rat on the way- awesome!

The next day we took it slow and easy. We went to the Eiffel Tower in the morning and then went to church at the American Church in the afternoon, which was nice because everything was in English. The church was beautiful and the people friendly and the worship great. It was a nice vacation from Paris- we were kind of mad at it, honestly, after the pain we went through the day before.

We went back to the Louvre so we could go see the Mona Lisa, and I gave a rushed art history tour for my friend, since the museum was closing in like 45 minutes. We went through the Italian Renaissance Galleries, the Greek and Roman Galleries, and the Ancient Egypt Galleries. I had a field day.

The evening was the most memorable one of my trip so far. My friends and I sat under the Eiffel Tower and shared a small bottle of wine. I ate a beignet chocolat (I could live off of those things,) and enjoyed the Paris night. That was why it was so great- I really felt that I was in Paris. The evening ended with a crêpe au fromage and a hike back to our hostel- I saw two rats that time- double awesome!

Dat slow shutter speed- if you’re tired of taking ordinary pictures of landmarks, I highly suggest you give this a shot (hahaha pun.) You can also try zooming in and out with your lens for other effects!

This post is getting pretty long, but I must continue with what happened today. We went to the Sacre-Coeur, Montmartre, and the Moulin Rouge. After eating lunch at the cafe that was in the film Amélie, we went to Notre Dame- my absolute favorite place in this entire world. We hiked to the top and enjoyed the best view in Paris, then went inside.

I love Notre Dame. There isn’t a place in this world that fills me with so much joy and solace and contemplation all at once.

So, yeah, that was my weekend in Paris. If you read all of that- great! Awesome! You’re the best!

Here, have a planet:

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

