Voyage à Paris

Well, I’m here again! It’s nice to be back in Paris- even if today was a bit of a successful cluster of a day.

We started out this morning at 6AM. We hopped on our train to France, where I fell asleep with my mouth hanging open and I drooled a little bit but hey I shouldn’t see any of those people on the train ever again. I really hope I never run into the conductor, because I tripped her on accident and if looks could kill I would not be typing this right now.

When we got into Paris we bought Metro passes and fought our way to our hostel. I mean, no punches were thrown but if the Metro system was a person, I don’t think I would hold back. I’m just spoiled by the tube, I guess, so even though the Metro is relatively easy to use, getting down to the trains is a nightmare. But yeah, we made it, the hostel is lovely, and we went to Versailles.

I was well prepared for Versailles this time. I brought my Natura Classica with me to help me out in the dimly lit apartments. I obviously don’t have those images quite yet (if only I had a pop-up developing tent like in the good ol’ days,) so the suspense that must be killing you right now will have to be endured. Also, my friends are great because they ended up waiting for me for about 20 minutes at the exit while I took my dandy little photography-driven time through the place. That’s love.

BUT THE BEST PART ABOUT TODay was the gardens.

Now, remember the last time I was in Paris, it was cold and it was the first week of April. There were no flowers. No fountains. It was pretty and all, but it wasn’t screaming HELLO YES WE ARE THE FAMOUS GARDENS OF VERSAILLES YOO HOO LOOK AT HOW PRETTY AND FLAMBOYANT WE ARE HOW ABOUT YOU GO FOR A STROLL AND MAYBE START A REVOLUTION OR SOMETHING?

All of that happened this time. Except the revolution.

My friends and I did a photo shoot in the gardens on my Voigtlander Brillant v6. So, once again, I have nothing to show you because I have to get those developed before I can show you. I’m pretty excited about them though, and if they turn out anything like my last batch from that camera, it’ll be revolutionary (see what I did there? do you see it?)

After toiling through the gardens for a few hours (my camera bag was back-breaking and it was hot and man those gardens don’t look so big from the Palace but when you’re suddenly at the end of the Grand Canal you may have some regrets I’m jussayin’,) we went back into Paris and decided to try getting to the Louvre before it closed. Well, that was a fail on 4 of 5 of our parts (kudos to Sarah for practically running across Central Paris in the name of art!) so instead we strolled along until we got to the Pyramids and soaked our feet in the fountains.

It was a lovely, busy day, and I’m looking forward to more adventures tomorrow. It’s wonderful to be back in the City of Light- let’s see what being around all this artistic inspiration does for my work!

À bientôt, and Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

