On the Banks of Shoreditch

Yeah, there’s no banks of Shoreditch. Just Shoreditch.

Today my classmates and I went on a walking tour of- you guessed it- Shoreditch. Our tour guide, Henri, was a formerly homeless man who knew the area well. I really appreciated Henri, for many reasons: one, he was unapologetic in the way he would talk about the mistreatment of the homeless and how the screwed-up system takes advantage of them. Second, Henri studied art- interior design, actually. So there’s that awesome common knowledge of art things that we shared.

Shoreditch has a lot of graffiti, a lot of galleries, and a lot of artists. It’s a pretty cool neighborhood, despite it’s sketchy past. Damein Hirst- one of my favorite artists ever- lived in Shoreditch before he became famous, squatting in buildings and whatnot. I actually got to see where he lived (totes took a photo like a tourist, don’t judge me,) and I also saw Cock and Bull through a window. Talk about a pleasant surprise.

When I learned that we were going to Shoreditch, I took to Google and found what was there, which was tons of graffiti. Alright, cool. I have a lot of rolls of films left, including my Revolog Kolor films, and I thought, eh, why not do a shoot down there with my beautiful friend Christina? So, we did.

I’ve only used Revolog Kolor film once before (I think? I shoot so much I can’t keep track anymore,) and that was during my last trip to Europe, and that roll got fogged. This time around my film is not fogged (just the typical light leaks from my Minolta… I should do something about those,) and I like the color cast presented by the film. It looks great with the graffiti.

My favorite is the “Curious” picture.

I didn’t fill up the 36 exp. roll while at Shoreditch, but I did manage to fill it in the Underground.

Welp, I’m off to Paris this weekend, so wish me luck! I get to spend four days paranoid about my camera bag. Gotta watch out for those pick-pockets.

Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

