The Story of the Girl from Bath

When I was in Bath, I did a shoot with my friend, Caroline. It was done on my Minolta Weathermatic A with expired 110 Pocket Film from Fukkatsu. I dressed her up in my classical-looking dress and dragged her around in public all day. Here are the results:

This is the story of a girl who is lost in a different time. When I initially thought of doing this shoot, I was thinking I was going to have a classical shoot, as in I would just stick Caroline in front of old buildings and such. However, when we were driving through the city, I saw a motor bike parked up against a Georgian-style building. Do you see where this is going? Well, you should because you can literally see the photo shoot above.

So, she is a girl in a classical dress that looks eerily similar to the gauze-like fabric that is portrayed on Roman statues, and has a lace collar and cuffs, reminiscent of the 19th century. She is in a city that is just like her- only she doesn’t have the trimmings of the modern-day world. Juxtaposition, my friends. Juxtaposition.

As for the quality of the photos: I love the grain, I love how she seems to glow in some pictures, and I love the faded saturation. These elements fit the narrative I was going for extremely well. Hooray for adding to content!

It is always such a thrill to shoot in different formats. I’m looking forward to trying even more things during my stay here! I really wish that there was a LomoLab near where I live in the States, because it is super convenient to drop off my fancy/weird/rare film and be able to pick it up within a week, instead of mailing it off, praying it gets to NYC, and waiting over a month to get the scans. I’m going to miss this luxury.

Yesterday I went to the White Cliffs of Dover and did another photo shoot with a friend. Now, to wait for the slides. I shot it with tungsten film, so here’s to hoping I get the effect I desire. Even though trying new things is cool, it’s still risky and anxiety inducing. Mais, c’est la vie.

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

