Once upon a Roll of Pocket Film…

Yet another detour from my London adventures, this time to talk about the joys of 110 Pocket Film.

Once upon last October I did a project called Post Apocalyptic Capitalism and while shooting the film I also took photos on my Minolta Weathermatic A, didn’t fill up the roll, and had it lying around my dormitory for the remainder of the school year except for one snowy day I randomly took it out, until Memorial Day, when I broke it back out to take photos at the beach, didn’t take photos at the beach and instead took photos in a nature park, shipped the film off to the LomoLab in NYC, and just recently got the scans via email and now here we are, an egregiously long sentence later, with the photos from above mentioned escapades.

This is my second roll of 110 Pocket Film, and I still love it. I love the grain. I love the softness. I love how some images are high contrast and others are low. I’m planning on shooting a roll this upcoming weekend when I go to Wessex, so seeing these made me more excited. This roll was Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film, available at Lomography stores and the Lomography website, if you’re interested in giving it a go. If you’re in need of a pocket film camera, they sell for cheap on eBay and you can sometimes find them at thrift shops for like 99 cents.

Also dem lens flares and glares. Mmm. Quality.

Happy Shooting!

 

Leave a Reply

