On the Topic of Nervous Photographs

I’m not a shy person. I’m a terrified person.

I don’t like calling in pizza. Sometimes I prefer eating toast over eating alone in the school cafeteria. I don’t answer the door when the post man knocks, and lord knows one of my least favorite things to do ever is ask for help in a store.

Sometimes this can get in the way of taking marvelous pictures.

This morning I went off on my own back to Westminster, mostly because the sky was perfect (blue and scattered clouds make my heart sing,) and because my tenacious side was still irritated it was raining yesterday when I visited. See, I have a photo series in mind that centers around London’s landmarks, and let’s be real, you can’t take a picture of a landmark people have seen thousands of times with a bleak grey background and expect to get positive reactions. Except from your mom, of course.

So, there I was, riding the tube to Westminster. I got off and went to the pier to get a good shot of the London Eye across the Thames. Before I explain my irrational behavior further, I have to show you the photograph.

I’m not sure about this composition but that’s a different tangent.

In a nutshell, I was extremely self-conscious about one, taking out my huge Instax Wide and snapping the shot, two, standing around pretending to look like I was doing something while it developed since I was standing in an ideal spot for tourist-like photos and was not sharing, and three, holding out the picture got people staring (or maybe it was the rainbow-tie-dye-skirt I was wearing but who knows really.)

I did manage to wait it out and take a lot of different compositions of this idea, so kudos to me. I plan on doing a whole series of these, so I have to get over my nervousness in taking photos in public settings. Sometimes I want to take pictures of strangers, but I don’t out of fear of making them upset, when I could just take their picture and if they ask what the hell is wrong with me, I can explain. This hesitation that crops up from time to time gets in the way of my goals. I’m thinking about challenging myself and just asking strangers if I can photograph them. We’ll see.

But I had a lovely day, and I did get the shots I needed, so all is well. I enjoyed the freedom of walking around by myself, it was more romantic that way, and while I was pretending to look busy I did manage to get a nice, ironic photograph of the Thames:

I tried doing another instax-within-a-photograph shot, but none of the photos came out like how I wanted. The place I took a photo of I pass everyday on my way to class, so I don’t foresee any issues re-taking it. I’m just glad I have the opportunity to do redo’s if I want!

Tomorrow is visiting the Globe and St. Paul’s and who knows what else. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have an inspirational tale about over coming nervous-photo-taking and I’ll be an inspiration among the masses. Or I’ll just have a cool photo, whatever works.

Until then, happy shooting!

 

 

 

One thought on “On the Topic of Nervous Photographs

  1. Pingback: Natura[l] Ireland | Deo Photography

Leave a Reply

