“I Will Not Be Your Toy.”

I’ve been thinking a lot about women. I’ve been thinking about how they are smart, strong, determined, and beautiful. But there is something going on with women today that is on the forefront of everyone’s minds: how they are portrayed by the media.

We get it. There’s the Dove campaign, YouTube videos of models being Photoshopped, clothing companies suddenly using “average” sized models for their clothing. Awesome. Great. I really am happy about this.

But what I am unhappy about is the brutality women are still facing at the hands of their perception of their physical appearance, despite these campaigns. There are still girls starving themselves to be thin. There are still girls hurting themselves because they can’t be perfect. Girls are tearing each other apart on Facebook, Twitter, through text messages, and through whispers because they have been taught to hate one another. When women hate themselves, it’s only natural for them to hate others.

So, I did a shoot.

Tear apart the vision, not the victim.

For this shoot, I used Revolog‘s Streak film. I had never used it before, but I’m so glad I did. The texture really adds another element to the series, and to be blunt, it reminds me of self-harm scars.

So, about those barbies… I got them at the thrift shop for 67 cents each. I was getting a lot of sideways glances while I was standing in check out, but hey, I have done weirder things for the sake of photography.

That’s all for now- happy shooting.

One thought on ““I Will Not Be Your Toy.”

Leave a Reply

