Five Months

It has been five months since I’ve done a roll of double exposures on my Minolta X700. More than that, maybe, I don’t know. I’ve lost count. It was probably for the best, because for a while there I was double-exposure happy. But, I have come off my hiatus with a developed roll that I started at the end of March in Dayton, OH and finished today here in Michigan.

As I mentioned before, I started this roll in Dayton, OH. The second picture is of my friend Rachel, in this weird room in our hotel parking garage. The hotel we were in was extra shady, mostly because of this parking garage. After the sixth level, there were no lights and there were tarps on the ceiling, and on the second floor there was this room. It had no explanation, just a desk and a single, creepy, light bulb. So, Rachel posed all stoic-like for me.

The next three images are from when I moved out of my dorm about two weeks ago. My room was empty, and I figured I might as well take advantage of it. My favorite is the red-hued image (that’s me on the floor with my fish, Charlemagne.) I framed everything and my boyfriend pressed the shutter. Team work!

The last three are from this past weekend, when I went with my niece and nephews to a carnival near our house. We had to leave early because of violence (long story, people are dumb,) and ended up at a park by the end of the evening.

I have one image that I scanned in straight from film, and that’s because I was looking over my prints and realized that one of the images I took wasn’t printed by the lab. So, I scanned it in myself, and took some liberties with the colors.

That’s my niece and nephew, waiting in-line for the pirate ship ride, with the ferris wheel superimposed. It’s my favorite because if you look closely, you can see that they are holding hands.

I also took a couple non-double exposures that I think have their merits, so here they are.

Those are my nephews, and that is the pirate ride. I think the light leak that appeared over the bottom half of the image was pretty lucky. It makes it look misty, and hey, pirate ships and mist? They go well together.

Do you guys enjoy taking double exposures? If so, how do you do it? Do you do it with your digital camera and them put images together in Photoshop? Do you put two negatives together? Or do you do your double exposures in-camera? Comment and share!

Since I like doing double exposures so much, I think I might so a double-exposure challenge for you guys. But, more on that later.

Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

