March’s Photographs

My photos for the month of March have been developed! Carrying my camera around with me (Fuji Natura Classica) every day is really paying off. I got a lot of cool, once-in-a-lifetime shots this month, and I’m super excited to share them! The opportunities for exploiting light were awesome, and this month yielded more photos than months previously.

This month started out with Spring Break, where I was home but locked inside because of the crazy cold. I got to visit with an old friend and we ate at coney island, where we constructed a masterpiece out of jam packets. I got myself a fish, Charlemagne, who is the best fish ever. He’s in a much bigger tank now, being the emperor of some anubias plants- I’ll have to photograph him in his new environment soon. I had the opportunity to make head shots with theater department students, which was really cool. The way the lights were set up made everyone look beautiful. Near the end of the month, the river was flooding, but while it was receding the temperature dropped, leaving weird ice-formations on trees and plant life. March was so exciting for spontaneous picture-taking! About half-way through the month I got discouraged, because I don’t normally take these kinds of photos. My photos are usually constructed, posed, or made with alternative processes. I considered doing double exposures for the month of April, but I thought about it and decided that I want to keep going in my current direction. It’s teaching me to find the beauty in the everyday, without any enhancements. And that’s a wrap for March! My camera is ready and loaded to take on April, and I’m determined to see this project through to December!

Leave a Reply

