Gotta Love Light

I’ve been spending a lot of time in the studio lately, and not even for classwork. I just want to play and experiment with all the lighting equipment! Rachel modeled for me again today, and this time I went a little color-crazy.

Super fun.

I set up seven lights (my patience feels tried just remembering it…) and I had to run around pressing the “test” button on the lights. This was a long exposure, at 20 seconds. Every time I pressed “test,” Rachel would step to the side and strike another pose. I’m sure watching me run around the studio was entertaining.

I didn’t get to do the experiments I originally set the lights up for, and that’s because I thought I would need friends to assist me in pressing the test buttons, since I was using so many lights (and there is no way I could do all of the flashes in two seconds…) But, now I’m reading up on these sorts of pictures, and I have a plan. So, it’s going to happen, hopefully next week!

Last week I took some more traditional photos of my boyfriend, for his professional website. They’re a stark contrast to the other portraits I’ve done in the studio, but I wanted to share anyway. Besides, I think he’s really cute.

He’s a musician… can you tell?

In other news, today my studio lighting class and I took head-shots for some theater majors! It was a good test to see how I work with someone I don’t know/am not comfortable with, and it went surprisingly well. Believe it or not, people aren’t all that scary. I had a lot of fun, and the pictures my classmates and I took were GORGEOUS. Hopefully I can get some copies to share with you guys.

A lot of lessons learned today… I can’t wait to see what the rest of this week will bring!

Leave a Reply

