Projector Photography

After months of waiting, I finally got to play with a projector.

Firstly, I had to order one. Finding one at a reasonable price was my first problem.

The second problem was the only affordable ones were from China.

Third was waiting for it.

Forth was signing out the studio.

And, today, when I opened the box, I discovered that the plug was for Asian outlets, not North American. One emergency trip to Meijer later, and the problem was solved.

THEN I needed AAA batteries for the remote. One emergency trip to my best friend’s room, and that problem was solved.

So, much adversity came my way, but, y’know, if I didn’t have to struggle it wouldn’t be a normal day.

SO ON TO THE PHOTOS.

My lovely friend Lisa posed for me today. I had a few ideas written down as to what I wanted to do, but about 30 minutes in I was out of ideas and had to start making it up as I went. When shooting projector photos, you need a super slow shutter speed, so I decided to play with that to get some interesting shots. Take a look:

I’m in love with so many of these images. Lisa’s classic beauty and the romantic projections really came together nicely. My favorites are the moon ones- she looks like a moon princess, I swear.

The background paper was a little funky, with all the lines. I tried pulling more down, but the lines where on the entire roll so I just said forget it. They look kind of cool, so I’m not really bent out of shape about it.

I’m hoping I come up with more creative ways to use the projector. I already have one idea for an upcoming still life assignment… I’m thinking about using it in rooms, having the projections bend over furniture and stuff. We shall see.

In other news, I got a fish! His name is Charlemagne, Emperor of the Bettas, but you can call him Charlie or Charles for short. So when you see pictures of a betta fish, you’ll know why because I love him and he’s the best fish ever.

Until next time… Happy shooting!

2 thoughts on “Projector Photography

  1. This photo-set is just breathtaking! They look like they belong as a wall mural or something to that affect.
    Might I also note – the dress your friend is wearing? Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

