Stopping by Woods with a Rainbow Umbrella on a Snowy Afternoon

I’ve been bored lately, and kind of in a photography slump. It’s not that I’m not enjoying taking pictures, because I am, and I’m not any less passionate, it’s just… I haven’t been happy with the work I’ve been producing for my classes. I think it’s the lack of freedom I have at this point in the semester, and hopefully that will change. However, I went out and did my own shoot. Because I can.

I had this idea since the first snow storm in my area. I pictured a girl in a red coat, in the snow. Simple, but I wanted to shoot it. I got my friend Rachel to pose for me, and she happened to have a red coat.

I think the best part of this shoot was the snow. There was so much of it- we went down by the river, where no one has really been since December. Now, no snow had melted up to this point, so all the snow that had accumulated over the past two months was just chillin’ (HA! PUN!), undisturbed… Until Rachel and I decided it would be a good idea to try and freeze our legs off. The snow was above our knees in some places! There were a few pictures where Rachel looked super short because of how deep the snow was. It was super funny, until we couldn’t feel our legs anymore.

I took a couple cameras with me. Again: because why not. I was really hoping to get some good panoramas out of my Horizon Perfect, but this happened:

rainbowumbrellahorizon

I got an unwanted double exposure! I’m super bummed, but it is what it is. It looks kind of cool, at least. Kind of. Maybe… I’m a little disappointed, if you can’t tell.

I busted out my Fuji Instax as well and shot two pictures on it. The first one is alright, but I’m in love with the second one. It has the contrast of the figure vs. ground that I was hoping for in my panoramas… (I’m not bitter… Like my film that broke in the camera so the sprocket holes were ruined and the reel wouldn’t take the film up anymore… whatever… not like I care or anything…) But yeah, these are from the instax:

A bit out of focus… oops?

Yay- look at the orb on the left from the flash reflecting off of the falling snow!

Sometimes you just have to do something to keep yourself sane amidst the course work. I do believe the boring period is over, since it is officially half way through the semester. I have an awesome shoot happening in the studio this week- I’m so excited I can hardly wait! I have a list of lighting tricks I want to try in portraiture. I love photographing people- so buh-bye still-life assignments, nice knowing you (but not really…)

Watch out for more this week for when I get done with my studio adventures- I can’t wait to tell you all about the pictures and how they were taken!

 

Leave a Reply

