A Project Involving Lettuce

Yepp. You read that right.

I’m in a class called photography workshop, and the object of the course is to do research with a professor outside of the art department, and create a body of work based on that research.

I’m researching the English department. I know what you’re thinking… “But lettuce has nothing to do with English! What are you talking about you crazy person!?”

Just hear me out.

I had to have images for class this week, but I didn’t have enough research together to start shooting seriously. This was kind of sprung on me, but I had a funny idea already in the works, after the professor I was auditing told his class a true story about a woman who ate nothing but lettuce. I took notes.

Now, what I’m really doing is auditing an Advanced Fiction Writing class. I’m interested in finding trends in college-aged writing, and I’m exploring the phrase, “A picture is worth 1000 words.” The students aren’t writing yet, they’re just reading short stories and essays to learn how to write. I’ve been taking notes on what they think makes a good story, and I’ve been jotting down some of the things the professor says. Like the story about lettuce.

So, I made a picture about lettuce, because I had to do something. I also made a few other images, based solely on the things the professor says. He creates awesome visuals with his words. While I’m waiting for the students to start writing, I can create images based off of his words of wisdom… and stories about an austere woman and her lettuce.

Here are some images based off of quotes from the professor:

“That’s precisely what reader’s do- they put a little bit of their life into the story.”

“Don’t put your thumb in the pan.”

“Our language becomes a part of us; we become a part of our language.”

AUSTERE: A woman who eats nothing but lettuce and lectures people on how they should do the same.

“Fifty years ago, people never would have thought we would become the robots they talked about.”

The images are Photoshop heavy and they come across as collages. I’m not sure how I feel about this aesthetic, but it’s what I’m working with right now. Since I have to create a final body of work using my research as source material, I think my final results will be something similar to this, but more refined. I’d like to keep the unrealistic elements that Photoshop allows me to implement, but I want to have some realism as well.

I’m not sure what my subjects are going to be. I have a few possibilities… I could continue with this theme, creating outrageous visuals for simple quotes. Another idea is collaborating with the fiction writing students to create an image that compliments their story that they write. I also have the idea of perhaps doing my own writing to supplement a photograph, perhaps a 1000 word story and a picture to go with it. I have a few ideas I’m playing with, and I’m sure I’m going to fail a lot before I come up with something I enjoy.

I’m looking forward to seeing the end result. I’ll be posting more about this project as I work on it, so stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

