California Dreamin’

Happy New Year! I hope 2014 treats you kindly. My year is off to a FANTASTIC start! I spent New Years Eve in Los Angeles, California. Actually, I spent December 29th to January 2nd. I went on the trip with the Spartan Marching Band in order to perform at the 100th Rose Bowl (thanks to our awesome football team) and the 125th Rose Parade. While we were there we also went to Disneyland and LA Live.

And.

Wait for it.

I took pictures.

Super shocking, right? I brought six cameras with me, but only ended up using four. First up is the Fuji Natura Classica. I am IN LOVE with this camera, and the photos below should give you a hint as to why.

The camera captures light beautifully. I love digital, don’t get me wrong, but you couldn’t get a photo like this without editing it in Photoshop. 10/10, would use again and again and again and… You get it.

At Disneyland I got the chance to play with my Fuji Instax- and man, I have a lot to learn on it. All my pictures were tourist photos. For some reason, I had it stuck in my head that the Fuji Instax HAD to be the camera I took to Disneyland. I had this romanticized vision of Polaroid-esque pictures of me and my loved ones. Not sure why this appealed to me so much- maybe it’s because all the pictures from my childhood are Polaroids and I was in Disneyland, a child’s dream destination. Or I couldn’t suppress my inner hipster or something. I really should stop drinking Starbucks and wearing trendy flannel shirts.

So yeah, even though they aren’t artful or anything, here they are. You are now subjected to my touristy photos. Boo-yah.

Now, I’m not the only one who had fun in Disneyland. There was another group there, a group that you haven’t heard from in a while…

THE BOXHEADS HAVE RETURNED!


And they made their creepy comeback in the happiest place on earth. Whoops? sorrynotsorry

Quick story about the Splash Mountain picture: I managed to get the BoxHeads into Disneyland in the first place because they are actually those collapsible storage drawers, so they fit in my backpack. Right before we got on the ride, I took one out and put it under my arm. I got on with no problem, and as soon as we turned the corner and were out of sight of the ride operators, I opened it and set it on my lap in the ready position. My group and I were super giddy about the idea, and when we started going up the hill to the drop I put the box on my own head. I hardly believed I had the guts to do it, since I’m not a fan of drops and I wouldn’t be able to hold on to the boat thingy because I’d have to hold the box on my head… But the box muffled my terrified screams as we went down and got soaked.

When we got off the ride, we went to the photo screens and found a group of people pointing and laughing at our picture. When we saw it, we practically fell over laughing. We ran over to the photo kiosk to buy it, but we forgot to look at the photo number. So, my friend told the cast member, “Ours is the one with the box on someone’s head!”

The cast member did NOT look happy.

“Well, that’s not allowed, so it probably didn’t end up here. We have moderators that take care of the photos and-”

“There it is!”

I guess the moderators missed our photo. The cast member still looked unhappy while she bagged our photos, but it was so worth it. Have a sense of humor, lady.

I have a shoot planned for these gems this weekend, so stay tuned for that. I have another set of photos from the trip that I took on my Horizon Perfekt, but I haven’t scanned the negatives in yet. So there is more to look forward to!

That’s all I have for now- I’m very excited to see what 2014 will do for everyone’s photography!

Leave a Reply

