Chasing Balloons

Today I did an impromptu photo shoot with my friend, Alison. We went to the dollar store, got 40 black balloons, and went to the vacant lot near my house (y’know, the only place around here that sort of looks like nature. We take what we can get in the suburbs.) I really had no ideas or concept, but as usual, a narrative fell into place as I worked.

While we were at the field forest lot place thing, we came across this little fort. It’s in one of the pictures above. It was kind of funny, kind of weird, and definitely made for some teenagers up to no good. We explored it a little, I climbed a tree… The usual business.

I shot 35mm film, Fuji Superia ISO800. I remembered how much I liked the 800 speed film in that field the first time I shot film there, and I wasn’t disappointed. I ran out of my roll, and even though I was done, there were two more moments that needed to be documented. So, I pulled out my handy dandy iPhone to save the day for the second time this week.

It’s great to gauge how far I’ve come this past year. Last December I shot my first roll of film on an automatic SLR. Now, a year later, I’m shooting with a fully manual SLR and I can read light on my own to pick out the best possible shutter speed and aperture without the need of a light meter. I make mistakes, but dang, I’ve come so far. Practice makes perfect, and this past year I’ve been practicing almost non stop.

Leave a Reply

