Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas everyone!

My Christmas Eve ended with a beautiful sunset. My relatives live by the lake, so we took the scenic route home- and I’m so glad we did, because I have never seen it look so gorgeous.

Image

I had to take the photo on my iPhone, but it was better than nothing. It was one of those times where I kicked myself for not having my camera. Moments like these motivate me to carry it around 24/7, but I have yet to do it. One day there will be a picture perfect moment and I will actually have my camera with me!

Today, I woke up early and unwrapped presents with my family. I made out like a bandit- I got a Fuji Natura Classica and a Fuji Instax! I’m in love~ and I can’t wait to try them out and fall in love with them even more.

After gifts, we went to my Grandpa’s house for dinner, and I brought my camera with me (y’know, since I’m still kicking myself for not having my camera with me for that sunset…) I wandered around the house I spent a lot of my time in as a kid, taking pictures of whatever I felt. Some pictures were purely aesthetic, others were nostalgia induced.

The first picture is of a Jesus painting that has scared me since I was a kid- no idea why, maybe it’s just the way it was lit up by the lamp. Happy Birthday, Jesus.

The second is of the shelves in my Grandma’s sewing room. Man, that woman could sew anything. The odd thing about those shelves is I don’t think any of those things have been touched since she passed away in 2004. Time stands still in that room.

The third picture is of the wall in the hallway. All of those pictures are of my aunts and uncles (my daddy-o is the top left dude.) The drawings all around the pictures are what me and the other grandkids drew for Grandma back in the day. Mine are the weird flower thing and the rainbow lava-lamp pattern thing.

The fourth is my nephew Charlie playing with some beads I found in the toy box. I was fiddling with them and he came over to help me organize them. He did a good job.

The fifth and final picture is of just a lamp. I used to play in the curtains behind it and get in trouble.

So, yeah, nostalgia. My Grandma is a major part of why I am an art major today, since she encouraged my curiosity and always made a big deal of whatever craft thing or drawing I made while at her house.

Yeah, totally didn’t intend for this post to be a trip down memory lane- but hey, it’s Christmas, a time for family and reflection. Thanks for letting me share with you all. I hope you had a lovely day, whether you celebrate Christmas or not. (:

Leave a Reply

