Backyard Beauty

Today I did a shoot that took longer to get ready than it did to actually take pictures. My sister, Natalie, was the model for me and she spent about an hour and a half doing her hair and makeup. It took me five minutes to shoot.

“That’s it?”

“Yepp. That’s it. Let’s go inside.”

The best part was it started to rain half-way through her getting ready process. I was not about to cancel the shoot, so I had to go all classy on my camera equipment: plastic trash bags are not just for taking out your nasties. So here we were, in my backyard (which is pretty junky…) in the freezing rain, trash bag over my camera, Natalie in a robe and sitting in a hair-dryer chair I found at a thrift store, with my dog sniffing around.

It was a good time, even though it was about five minutes.

Leave a Reply

