Pocket Film and Minolta Weathermatic A

Remember back in forever ago I got my Minotla Weathermatic A? I finally used it in August, when I had a reason to take it off the shelf and learn how to use it properly. The thing with underwater/weather proof cameras is that there are only a few conditions where you can use it. I mean, you can use it whenever, and maybe I’ll use it for non-water-esque purposes in the future, but for now I want to play with it in all the conditions it was made for. Ideally, underwater. So I went to the beach.

In the middle of August I took my camera with me to visit a friend and her family while they were on vacation to Lake Michigan. It was the first time I used my Minolta Weathermatic A, and I was super excited. Everything worked, I had film, and it was a brand-new experience. I was being extremely picky with it though, since the film itself was pricey and I knew getting it processed was going to be expensive as well. So I didn’t fill my roll of 110 film while I was on Lake Michigan, a result of this frugality. Below are my favorites from there.

I knew that pocket film would have a grainy effect, but I didn’t expect it to be so atmospheric. In some photos, the result is almost ethereal and dream like. I love it. I took my camera with me when I met up with my boyfriend on campus at MSU, and I took some pictures by the river. I even took a picture of him, and the result is interesting enough to take note of.

See how his skin glows? I have no idea how that happened, and I kind of wonder if it has something to do with the amount of light reflecting off of his face and bouncing off the lens. I’m also a fan of the random red dot things in the first image, which make appearances in other photos. I don’t know how those ended up there either, but I’m 100% down with these happy accidents!

I finished my roll of film the last day before I went back to school, when a group of friends and I went to the beach to do my couch shoot for my Domestic Series. We figured while we were there we should go swimming and have a good time. Water? Good time? I brought my camera.

The last two are striking because my friends are splashing each other (and me, in the last one,) but you can read the water as light. It makes me wonder if the Minolta Weathermatic A is hyper sensitive to reflective surfaces, which is interesting because it’s a camera made for use near water. I like that about it, it makes for interesting photography.

I got my 110 film from lomography, and I sent it to them to get developed. It took about three weeks total- it was torture. I am not patient, and everyday I was checking my email hoping I got my digital copies. They did a good job and I am very pleased with the results- the wait was worth it, as much as I hate to admit it.

I really want to do an underwater photo shoot with props and a narrative, but the weather is too cold now. Next year it will happen. In the meantime I will prepare for snow fall!

Leave a Reply

