So I’m in College, Right?

I don’t know if you heard, but I’m a Studio Art student concentrating in photography. This semester I have no photography classes. I’ve been doing my best to continue shooting, but the universe seems to be against me. Here are my failed escapades.

I went to the beach the day before I moved back to school for a shoot that is a part of my Domestic series. It was a great time, and I brought my Minolta Weathermatic A for some fun underwater and splashing shots. It’s 110 film, so I had to mail it off to get it developed. I took the pictures August 18th. I sent them out the day before yesterday. I’m poor and in college- need I say more?

I’m in this thing called a marching band, and we have this thing called pre-season drill. I took pictures of some important events during the ten days I was drenched in sweat. I was rather excited- I got some great shots! So I took my film to Meijer ASAP to get printed. I don’t normally go to Meijer to get my film developed, but I was just too excited to wait. My excitement turned to sadness turned to anger when I went to pick up my prints and they told me my film broke in the machine.

Excuse me? It did what?

So yeah, I was majorly bummed out because there were many shots on that roll that I will never get back- my trip to Lake Michigan was also on that roll. I did get five prints out of it, but I only like two of the five, both of which are from my trip.

I’m getting really good at this whole analog business. And this double exposure business (I’ve been taking double exposures like it’s my job,) so seeing these two images made me excited but all at the same time sad because I lost a lot of shots that had fantastic potential. You win some you lose some, I guess.

The next debacle was weather related. On labor day a group of my friends and I were going to drive three hours up north to a beautiful crystal-clear lake for an underwater shoot. We were going to make a day out of it. Until the infamous fickle Michigan weather changed our plans. You can’t exactly do an underwater photo shoot when it’s 60 degrees outside… It’s just not a fun time.

AND THEN FINALLY- I was out shooting with my friend Claire, who is in an analog photography class. We walked around campus for an hour or so, and while I was showing her how to use her camera I was taking pictures of my own. I’m blessed to live on such a big and beautiful campus, and I filled half my roll with double exposures of it. Really, I’m on a double exposure kick. They’re fun.

Remember that marching band thing I mentioned? Well, I managed to get my camera into the stadium, and I took pictures of the band and the game. SO MANY COOL SHOTS. After the game I took the roll to Meijer to get them developed, because dangit these were going to be great and I was starved for actual negatives and prints and ahhhhhh

I got my film back.

I got the prints.

And they were printed wrong.

My photos turned out really, really well. So that’s good. The film didn’t get destroyed in the machine. So that’s good. I’m looking at the positives here, I really am. But c’mon, can I catch a break here?

I guess the double exposure nature of my roll confused the people behind the counter, because all my images but three were printed like, half-and-half. It’s unfortunate, because I just want to scan the prints in and show you how cool they look. But, alas, I cannot. I’m working on getting a film scanner though, so hopefully I can show you guys soon. Here are two of three images that they didn’t slaughter.

 At least I have these going for me, right? So that’s what I’ve been up to lately- lots of trying and not much succeeding. I have a minor project in mind in response to a controversial topic going on at my college recently, so keep an eye out for that. I have so many feelings and opinions about the subject that the only way I can really express it is if I take a photo of it. Y’know what I mean? That’s just one of the many things I love about this medium.

That’s all for now- oh! I have a Flickr account now, so go ahead and check it out when you have a minute.

One thought on “So I’m in College, Right?

  1. It’s been my experience that there’s no substitute for having a real camera store/photo lab do my processing for me. The last time I took film to Walgreens (because yes, I was in a hurry and wanted them done quick-quick) they didn’t actually scan my negatives, so I ended up taking them down to my local indie camera store, which was still about 30 miles away. I’ve learned my lesson now: it’s better to have things done right, even if it takes a little longer. Stick with people you trust!

Leave a Reply

