The World’s Largest Abandoned Gem

The Detroit Packard Plant is the world’s largest abandoned factory. I have the pleasure of living about twenty-minutes away from it. Quite a few people from my area like to frequent the “Packard”, some to take pictures, some to explore. I’ve heard about skits being performed there and even mini-concerts. It’s pretty cool.

The building is so large and vast it would take several visits to see it all. Covered in graffiti and a consistent dumping ground for large objects, visiting the Packard is a new experience every time you go. You never know what you’re going to find. This was my first time visiting the Packard. I had a shoot I wanted to do as a part of my Pleasures of Levitation series, so my friends and I wandered around a little bit before I chose a location.

I’ll admit, it was sketchy in a few places. We came across a chop-shop being used in one of the abandoned warehouses, and within five-minutes of us being near it they shut down and moved the three BMW’s parked outside of it. Whoops? The plant was dark in a lot of spots, so I avoided the shadows. I may be a young adult, but I’m still afraid of the dark. I’m a pansy.

I figured while I was there I might as well shoot some film, too. I also figured I could try some more double exposures, since I’m starting to get the hang of it. Tip: pay attention to the high lights and low lights of each exposure. I shot on expired Kodak Gold 400, I think circa 2007. I love the grain in the dark spots.

We also took a trip to the Heidelberg Project, since it was just down the street from the Packard. If you ever come to Detroit, I recommend checking out the eastside. Despite it’s reputation, there are some interesting things to see in the way of urban decay and art.

Leave a Reply

