Double Exposures

I’ve been really itching to try double exposures on my Minolta X-700, and after a week of shooting I finished my roll. It usually doesn’t take me that long to fill a roll, but the double exposure idea I had in mind required 20 different people to photograph. I essentially “collected” people all week. I would ask my friends, family, and neighbors to pose for me.

Image

The idea behind it was that I think we all have the desire to see marvelous things and travel and just live our lives to the fullest, but life happens and gets in the way and we don’t do the marvelous things we think about. I always hear people talking about how they would love to do x, y, or z, but they can’t because of reason 1, 2, and 3. One of my desires in life is to do these marvelous things and not let life hold me down with reasons 1, 2, 3. Are ya following me?

My first exposure was pictures of pictures of interesting travel places, like the Grand Canyon, the Great Pyramids of Giza, etc. After I filled my roll with exposures of these places, I rewound (rewinded? rewound? uh?) and shot people doing ordinary things. I got my dad making coffee, my mom getting ready for work, my sister when we were out for dinner, stuff like that.The sad thing is only 5 out of 24 really came out nicely. But hey- that’s okay, 5 is better than nothing! I love working with film and the unpredictability of it.

All five of the pictures are in my film work tab, so be sure to check it out. I’m heading to Chicago tomorrow to visit my best friend, so keep an eye out for some more updates and photos.

Leave a Reply

