Battle Scars is live.

The project I’ve been working on for the last couple of months, Battle Scars, is now live on this blog.

It has been such a blessing and a burden to be working on this project (which is by no means finished.) I initially posted the photographs on my Facebook page, and I was confused as to why they weren’t getting any attention- well, I thought they weren’t getting any attention. I was getting more feedback on images I didn’t think to be that important. However, at an exhibition this weekend, someone I know came up to me and told me that this project was “some pretty heavy stuff.” and that’s when I understood.

I’m doing my best to boost a signal about self-harm, and just because I’m not getting any feedback about it, doesn’t mean it isn’t being seen. It’s a taboo subject; of course no one is going to talk to me about it. But they’re seeing and reading these stories, and that is more than enough for me. We’re making progress, no matter how small.

I love the people I photographed. They’re all wonderful people with beautiful souls and I wish they could all have happy, wonderful lives full of blessing and no pain. Several of them, when coming to me about being a part of the project said similar things to: “Well, my scars are pretty faded, so I don’t know if it’ll be much help…” it just broke my heart, knowing that these people who have felt so much pain were shy about their pain not being “enough”. This is one of the many reasons why I pursued this project.

I’m by no means done with this project. I have quite a few more images to take and more images to be written on. So keep an eye on the project, which can be found here: https://deophotography.wordpress.com/battle-scars/

Thank you to those who have participated: your story is so important to me and to others.

One thought on “Battle Scars is live.

  1. It’s a common fact that people do not discuss these topics. Any topic to do with abuse or violence against women and children. Nan Mykel (nanmykel.com) had this experience when she published her book, Fall Out. I’ve had close friends and family shut me up. The few times I posted about it, hardly any response. My last post: https://pviljoen.wordpress.com/2015/12/18/free-to-be-free-dverse/ had many responses purely because it was linked to a poetry forum (dversepoets.com) and participants are kind of forced to comment. There’s a bit of history here also linked to the same forum but we’ll let it go.

Leave a Reply

